Museum Governance


The National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library is a 501(c)3 non-profit corporation.

It is governed by a Board of Trustees and has a National Advisory Council.

The NCSML is funded in part by a grant from the Cultural Enrichment Partnership Program administered by the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs.


George Drost, Chair

Steve Michalicek, Vice Chair & Treasurer

Lee Freeman, Secretary

Tom DeBoom, Past Chair

National Advisory Council

The Honorable Madeleine Albright

The Honorable William and Mrs. Catherine Cabaniss

Dr. Pavol Demeš

His Excellency Hynek Kmonicek, Ambassador of the Czech Republic

Tony and Magda Golobic

His Excellency Peter Kmec, Ambassador of the Slovak Republic

Wendy Luers

PhDr. Michal Lukeš, The National Museum in Prague

Fred Malek

Dr. Sally Mason

Sue Plotz Olson

Chuck Peters

The Honorable Tom Ridge

Gary Rozek

Peter Sís

Herb Sklenar

Dr. Jan and Marica Vilček

The Honorable Michael Žantovský

Board of Trustees

Lu Barta Barron

Brad Buck

Terri Christoffersen

Denver Dvorsky

Dr. Charles Heller

Joyce Langlas

Hilery Livengood

Mary Kay McGrath

Ernie Melichar

Rich Mitvalsky

Dr. Karel Pacak

Robert Petrik

Michael Seng

Kyle Skogman

Tom Stanczyk

Martin Valko

Craig Van Dyke

Doug Wenzel