Step back in time with the Sleger Immigrant Home. This one-and-a-half story house was the home of five generations of the Sleger family beginning in the 1890s through 1984.
Constructed between 1884 and 1889, the home originally sat almost directly across the river from where it sits today. The Sleger family was the third family to live in the house after emigrating from Bohemia to the United States in the late 1880s. The home was occupied by members of the Sleger family until 1984. The National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library (NCSML) obtained it and moved it across the Cedar River to save it from demolition.
In 2008, flood waters reached eight feet inside the house. Fortunately, all of the furniture, antiques and artifacts were removed from the house while the staff and volunteers prepared for the flood (Read more about the 2008 Flood here).
In 2011, the house was lifted from its foundation and placed next to the elevated and expanded main NCSML building (Read more about the Monumental Move here). The exterior and interior of the home were stripped of paint and wallpaper to reveal its original 1800 colors. The home now contains early 20th century furniture, an antique Czech peroutka and an original portrait of the Sleger family.
The main level of the home is accessible to visitors. The two rooms are each 180 square feet.
Regular tours of the Immigrant Home are available Sunday through Saturday during museum hours, except for times of inclement weather. Tours of the Immigrant Home are included with paid admission to the galleries.
Now located at 1400 Inspiration Place SW, in Cedar Rapids, IA
Monday-Saturday 9:30 a.m.-4 p.m.
Sunday Noon-4 p.m.
Closed: Thanksgiving, Christmas Day, & New Year's Day.