National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library

National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library
Skip Navigation LinksHome / About Us / Museum Governance

Museum Governance

The National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library is a 501(c)3 non-profit corporation. It is governed by a Board of Directors and has a National Advisory Board.


Rich Mitvalsky, Chair
Tom Stanczyk, Treasurer
Craig Van Dyke, Secretary
Lu Barta Barron, Past Chair 

Board of Directors

Terri Christoffersen
Tom DeBoom
Carey Downs Gibson
Denver Dvorsky,
Czech Heritage Foundation Rep
Marilee Fowler, Ex-officio
    Cedar Rapids Area Convention & Visitors Bureau
Tony Golobic

Neil Havlik

Hilery Livengood
Janelle McClain

Ernie Melichar
Ann Poe, Ex-officio

Gary Rozek

Jim Sattler

Michael Seng

Marvin Smejkal

Dyan Smith

Bill Stone
Ted Townsend

Robert Vancura

Doug Wenzel

Carol Wohlleben, Museum Guild Rep

National Advisory Board

Madeleine Albright, Ph.D. 
Willard L. Boyd
Ms. Christine Branstad
Mr. William and Mrs. Catherine Cabaniss
Captain Eugene Cernan
Mr. Miloš Forman
Sally Mason, Ph.D. 
Mr. Michael Novak
Mr. Peter Sís
Mr. Herb Sklenar
Mr. Martin Votruba

His Excellency Peter Burian, Ambassador of the Slovak Republic
PhDr. Michal Lukeš, The National Museum in Prague

The NCSML is funded in part by a grant from the Cultural Enrichment Partnership Program administered by the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs.